User Manual

4
2. Conquering Regions
The player's Race tokens are used to conquer Regions of the
map, whose occupation will yield Victory coins for that player.
> First Conquest
A player's race deploying on the map for the first time must
enter it by conquering one of its border Regions (i.e. a Region
adjacent to the edge of the board or one whose shore is on a Sea
adjacent to the edge of the board, even if the Sea is occupied by
a Seafaring Race).
> Conquering a Region
To conquer a Region, a player must have available to deploy:
2 Race tokens + 1 additional Race token for each Encampment,
Fortress, Mountain, or Troll's Lair marker + 1 additional Race token
for each Lost Tribe or other player's Race token already present in
the Region. Seas and Lakes cannot usually be conquered.
Upon conquering a Region, the player must deploy the Race
tokens he used to conquer this Region inside its borders on
the map. These tokens must remain in this Region until the
player reorganizes his troops at the end of this turn (see
Troop
Redeployment
, p. 5).
Important Note: Regardless of a Race and/or Special Power
benefit, a player must always have at least one Race token
available to initiate a new Conquest.
> Enemy Losses & Withdrawals
If Race tokens of another player occupied the Region prior
to its conquest, that player must immediately take all of these
Race tokens back in hand and:
l Permanently discard one Race token back into the Storage
tray;
l Keep the other Race tokens in hand, and redeploy them
in any other Region(s) still occupied by his race (if any) as
the final action of the current player's turn.
The Region(s) in which the remaining Race tokens, if any,
redeploy do not have to be adjacent or contiguous to the
Region(s) they fled from. If all of a player's Regions were
attacked this turn, leaving him with some Race tokens in hand
but none on the board, he may redeploy these as if he was
doing a First Conquest, on his next turn.
When a Region defended by a single token is captured, the
defending token is discarded. This will usually be the case if the
defending token is a Lost Tribe or when the defending token
belongs to a Race In Decline (see
Entering into Decline,
p. 6).
Note: A player may choose to conquer a Region occupied by
his own In Decline token, if he wishes to: He will lose that
token, but might gain access to a Region that is more
profitable for his new Active Race tokens to occupy.
Mountains are immovable, and remain in place to provide
defense for their new conqueror.
> Following Conquests
The active player can repeat this process to conquer as
many new Regions as he wishes during his turn, provided he
has enough Race tokens left to accomplish these successive
conquests.
Each of the newly conquered Regions must be adjacent to
(i.e. sharing a border with) a Region already occupied by his
active Race tokens, unless permitted otherwise by his Race and
Special Power combo.
To enter the board through these Lost Tribe-occupied Hills,
the player must use 3 of his precious Race tokens.
After successfully conquering the hills, this bad-to-the-bone crew
ventures into the elves' neighboring farmlands.
Encampments Troll Lairs Fortresses Mountains
SW Rules EN_Mise en page 1 19/05/15 13:49 Page5